CAD Society Announces Its 2015 Award Winners and One Surprise Winner To Be Announced At COFES

CAD Society Announces Its 2015 Award Winners and One Surprise Winner To Be Announced At COFES

--CAD Society recognizes excellence in building business, technology, and community for 3D CAD and engineering software--

Denver CO, April 6 2015 – The CAD Society today announced the winners of this year’s CAD Society Awards. The third winner will be announced during COFES 2015 (Congress On the Future of Engineering Software), also the venue where the awards will be presented.

The CAD Society Awards annually acknowledge the contributions made by individuals who have significantly affected and developed the CAD, engineering, manufacturing, and architecture software industries.

Lifetime Achievement Award - Jon Peddie, President, Jon Peddie Research

The CAD Society’s Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a lifetime of outstanding technical and business contributions to the CAD industry.

Dr. Jon Peddie is one of the pioneers of the graphics industry, and formed Jon Peddie Research (JPR) to provide customer consulting and market forecasting services. Dr. Peddie has lectured at numerous technical conferences on topics related to graphics technology and the emerging trends in digital media technology. Recently named one of the most influential analysts in the computer graphics arena, he regularly advises the investment community. He is frequently quoted in trade and business publications, was the former president of SIGGRAPH Pioneers, and is also the author of several books, including his most recent, The History of Visual Magic in Computers.

Jon is receiving the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award for in recognition of his outstanding life-long pioneering, consulting, and analysis service dedicated to advancing the underappreciated pixel.

Jon joins a list of recipients of the Lifetime Achievment Award that includes Ivan Sutherland, Dean Kamen, and Patrick Hanratty.

Joe Greco Community Award – Bob Deragisch, Director, Engineering Services, Parker Hannifin and President, COE; and Jon Jarrett, Director, Orbital ATK and Technical Director, PLM World

The CAD Society’s Joe Greco Community Award is presented for outstanding work in improving communication and developing community within the CAD industry. This year, the award will be presented to two deserving recipients – Bob Deragisch and Jon Jarrett.

Bob Deragisch started working at Parker Hannifin over 30 years ago and has held numerous positions throughout its IT and Engineering departments. Bob has been supporting Parker’s use of CATIA since he installed V2 in 1985. Currently, Bob is responsible for managing Engineering Services for the Aerospace Group, while also directing eBusiness initiatives for the Group, with an emphasis on collaboration with customers, suppliers, and partners. Included in this endeavor is deployment of CATIA and ENOVIA across the Aerospace Group of Parker Hannifin.

Bob has also been an active member of COE (CATIA Operator’s Exchange) since 1986 and currently serves as its President (now in his second three-year term). He is receiving the 2015 Community Award for his decade of tireless efforts to interact with other user groups at COFES, driving real benefits to their constituencies, and for his effective leadership of COE.

Jon Jarrett has been with Orbital ATK (Thiokol) for 28 years working with many programs and various assignments as a design engineer, program manager, project manager, manager of Scientific and Engineering Systems and senior manager of ATK Corporate Engineering and Quality Systems. In his current role he is responsible for engineering software applications, associated process standards, and lean process development across engineering and other cross functional organizations.

Jon has actively served the Siemens PLM community by participating in the not-for-profit independent Siemens PLM user’s group, PLM World, since 2001. Jon has led several initiatives within PLM World including growing user participation at the annual user conference to be 50% of the overall agenda; inclusion of roundtable discussions to share best practices across industry and companies; and revamping the technical organization to influence future product direction.

Jon is receiving the 2015 Community Award for his work with and efforts to interact with other user groups at COFES, learning and sharing his experiences with his constituency as a leader of PLM World.

Previous award winners of the Community Award include Al Dean, Lynn Allen, and Ralph Grabowski.

Leadership Award – To Be Announced!

The Leadership Award is presented for outstanding technical and business leadership in the CAD industry, and focus and dedication to the needs of CAD users.

The winner of the Leadership Award will remain wraps until an announcement is made and award presented on the evening of April 18, 2014 at COFES 2015.

Past Leadership Award recipients include Carl Bass, Tony Affuso, Jon Hirschtick, Bernard Charles, and Ping Fu.

All of the awards will be presented at COFES (Congress On the Future of Engineering Software), this year scheduled for April 16-19, 2015 in Scottsdale, AZ.

About The CAD Society

The CAD Society ( is a not-for-profit industry association with the goal of fostering community and encouraging open communication among those who make their living within the CAD industry including AEC, mechanical, manufacturing, and GIS. The CAD Society is dedicated to creating an informative community and improving the tools its members employ in order to get their jobs done. This is achieved by providing an open forum of communication, which helps to illuminate the practices of industry vendors. It has been a leader in creating interoperability guidelines that encourage software vendors to develop applications that can openly share data.


CAD Society Contact:

Jeffrey Rowe (Acting President)


Published: Monday, April 06, 2015


Site Credits